The 65th annual Mark Twain Awards

June 2, 2012 @ 6:30 at the Pasadena Convention Center.

The Associated Press Television-Radio Association's annual convention

Television and radio stations in 13 states -- California, Nevada, Hawaii, Arizona, New Mexico, Idaho, Washington, Colorado, Utah, Montana, Wyoming, Alaska and Oregon -- will be honored for their work advancing broadcast journalism.

The evening will begin with a reception at 6:30 p.m. followed by dinner at 7:00 p.m.

There will be no refunds after May 18th at 5pm


BREAKING NEWS Aspiring Reporters! APTRA Academy Jr. registration is now underway! This is a half-day live-shot camp in which registrants work with news reporters, photographers and others on liveshot skills by reporting on a mock story. You get a copy of your story at the end of camp for your resume reel.

APTRA Academy Jr. 2012 is June 2nd, 7am to noon at the Pasadena Convention Center.

The Pasadena Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown Pasadena, just 9 miles northeast of downtown Los Angeles, 16 miles from Bob Hope/Burbank Airport and 29 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. You can walk to Old Pasadena, a bustling 22-block historical area filled with 200 shops, boutiques, restaurants and clubs.  
Registration is on a first-paid first-served basis. The cost is $125 through May 15th. It increases to $150 through May31st, then $175 through June 2, so sign up soon! This camp does sell out. No refunds after May 15.

To register....... click here.


A limited number of overnight rooms are available at the adjacent Sheraton Pasadena hotel at a special rate of $119 per night. To reserve a room, call the hotel directly 800-457-7940 or go online at

Be sure to ask for the group rate for the APTRA Mark Twain Awards.  The discounted rate will be available until April 27, 2012 at 5 p.m.

APTRA's Awards Update:

Click here for this year's Rules

Designated News Dates:
Nov. 1, 2011
Nov. 17, 2011

If your television or radio station in California, Nevada, Hawaii, Arizona, New Mexico, Idaho, Washington, Colorado, Utah, Montana, Wyoming, Alaska or Oregon subscribes to The Associated Press, you are a member of APTRA and are eligible to enter the contest. There are no dues or membership applications for membership in APTRA. Non-AP members will not be considered.

Winners in each of the competition categories will receive Mark Twain Trophies. The AP’s Mark Twain Awards will be presented during the annual APTRA convention.